Week of 21 July 2008: It’s all about the summertime

I just realized that I entitled my previous post “14 July 2007.” Apparently my subconscious is a year behind schedule.

It’s amazing what some leftover fruit and yogurt can do:

Smooth, sweet, and slightly tart, this beaut was a great complement to a lazy summer afternoon. Speaking of lazy summer afternoons (I’ve experienced many in the last two months), they’re also ideal for light, playful lunches. I made a platter for two consisting of Jersey tomatoes, Monterey Jack cheese (leftover from my bbq a couple weeks ago), and some chicken I found chilling in the fridge, all with a touch of black pepper. I served with some multigrain crackers, and the kick from the cheese made this dish golden. And the color on those tomatoes really is lovely.

For dinner one night, I made a vegetable stir-fry with carrots, mushrooms, eggplant, onions, and jap chae noodles. Boil the noodles for a couple minutes and give them a cold bath. Cook the veggies in some vegetable oil. I tossed in the onions first with some garlic, then took those out and cooked the carrots, mushrooms, and eggplant. After those cooked for about 10 minutes, I threw the onions and the noodles in, adding salt and pepper to taste, as well as some sweet soy sauce and some oyster sauce. I added some corn starch in to thicken the liquid from the mushrooms, and drizzled with sesame oil before serving.

D also whipped up some chicken wings and drumsticks marinated with soy sauce, scallion, and ginger, which were finger-licking awesome.

Over the weekend, I had a low key potluck picnic with some friends in the park. Among the delicacies:

McDonald’s McChicken sandwiches contributed by some lazy bums :). I haven’t had a fast food burger in awhile, but I have to admit, this chicken patty nestles itself quite delectably in its bun bottom:

My good friend C made these wonderfully quaint cucumber sandwiches, which reminded me of one of my favorite plays, The Importance of Being Earnest:

We also had some subs, brought by some other lazy bums:

And I made a spinach, sun dried tomato, and bacon pasta:

Here is a recipe for a similar dish from Serious Eats.  I like mine better because the bacon adds so much flavor, and dare I say depth.  However, this dish minus the bacon would make for an excellent summertime vegetarian meal.  Some strawberries and watermelon, some touch football, and lots of mosquito bites = good times.

Leave a Reply

