Taking a page from Momofuku Bakery

Word on the street is that the latest manifestation of David Chang’s genius, Momofuku Bakery and Milk Bar, is no pushover.  As a baked good fiend, ‘David Chang’ and ‘bakery’ in the same sentence is sweet music to my ears.  But for now, I suppose I can only salivate from afar and live vicariously through you lucky bastards who trod its hallow ground.

While I’m sure he’s not the first person to employ the compost cookie concept, that particular one stuck out to me the most when I glanced at the menu (check this review out for some solid pics).  Momofuku’s compost cookie supposedly contains foodstuffs like pretzels and potato chips, to go along with butterscotch and chocolate chips.  While I unfortunately can’t vouch for the cookie’s taste (Ed Levine seemed underwhelmed by it), I at least find the concept attractive for its hypothetically economical-environmental use of ingredients.

As such, I was delighted to discover that I had a number of ingredients on hand that would work well for a batch of cookies I planned to bake for my students: I thought, proudly and a bit smugly, that these could be compost cookies in theory as well as in practice.  Since the ingredients produced a beautiful banana, chocolate, and coconut riff, I anointed them my “bananonut” cookie creation.

An approximated recipe (is that an oxymoron?):

3/4 stick butter
1/2 cup sugar
3T coconut milk
2 ripe bananas, i’m told that’s about 1 cup
1.5t vanilla extract
2 eggs
2 cups flour
2t baking powder
1/2t salt

100g chocolate, broken
1.5 cups oats

for topping:
desiccated coconut

Mash bananas. Whisk in vanilla extract and two eggs. Cream butter and sugar and combine mixture with banana-extract-eggs. Combine dry ingredients except for oats and chocolate.  Stir in dry ingredients about 1/4 at a time, until just incorporated. Toss in oats and chocolate, or whatever else you have on hand. 1T drops on baking sheet. Bake at 375F for 10-15 mins. Makes ~36 cookies.

Pre-baked:

DSC03029

Post-baked:

DSC03062 DSC03057

DSC03046

2 thoughts on “Taking a page from Momofuku Bakery

  1. I tried some of the stuff in the office. Maybe I’m the wrong person to be critiquing, since I’m not a big sweet eater anyway, but what I tasted was honestly too rich and too salty. I liked the single bites I took, but there is no way in hell I could ever get through an entire piece of anything.

    I honestly think David Chang is kind of laughing at us and himself and the whole idea of excess each time he okays his pastry chef’s new creations. There’s definitely an “I dare you” element to each item. I am kind of ambivalent about it :/

Leave a Reply

