Taking it to the streets

In both Nanjing and Zhangye (and throughout most of Asia, it seems), a lot of cooking happens out on the streets.  Not only does this enable me to display my photographic prowess, it provides color and character to streetside life.  From roasting sweet potatoes and boiling young corn on the cob to full out rocking a wok, catching these studs in action added an entertaining, educational, and often uplifting dimension to my travels.

Pounding wheat dough for noodles:

DSC03177 DSC03178

Frying bread sticks (‘yau ja gwai’)…I eat these rarely in an effort to limit my daily intake of fried dough, but they are pure deliciousness when the craving hits.  They are most commonly eaten alongside a bowl of congee (how I’m most familiar with them) or dunked into a hot cup of soy milk.  I’ve had some pretty bad ones, but when they’re good, oh man, they rock.  Why oh why does fried bread in nearly every form taste so damn good?

DSC03204 DSC03206

Making fried rice.  The clang of his wok against the stove was music to my ears, and as I walked away, I listened for it until I could hear it no more.  Next to him was a man doing similarly grand things with noodles.

DSC03295

In her stall, this lady was efficiently but meticulously churning out savory pancakes to order.  I watched her make about ten, and each was made in precisely the same way: first, a thin layer of batter was spread over the stove to create a paper-thin pancake; then, an egg was cracked onto this base, roughly scrambled, and then spread out over the pancake; savory ground meat bits and scallions were tossed on, followed by an assortment of thick sauces and condiments; the grand finale was an oversized, deep-fried, Chinese chip (I’m sure you’ve seen these at a Chinese restaurant at one point or another) shattered onto the bed of grub below.  All were assembled into something resembling a burrito, placed into a plastic bag (the ones you see hanging on the wall), and promptly transferred for immediate consumption.  I regret not getting one.

DSC03298

DSC03602

Preparing an unidentifiable, fiery red substance outside a hotpot restaurant.  This guy was here as we walked into the restaurant and was still going at it when we came back out after our meal.  Stuff like this brings me down to earth whenever I dare to dream of being a chef.

DSC03652

One thought on “Taking it to the streets

  1. hahaa the guy in the first picture is awkwardly posing for the picture. hahaa. i, too, regret that you didnt try the chinese chip. why does the man in front of the hotpot restaurant have a chef’s hat? what makes him so special?

Leave a Reply

