Home away from home

Yesterday I hit up my aunt’s place for a belated Chinese New Year’s meal.

This still taken while fiddling with my camera’s features as my aunt was preppping the food. Unintendedly nice photos are happy.  I also realized that I need to start taking better advantage of my camera’s capabilities…So expect a higher standard of photos in the near future!

DSC04885

The spread. At the end of the day, Chinese food made by the family, for the family, puts all my other food cravings to shame.  It resonates with every part of my being.  This particular homecooked meal was especially therapeutic for my spirits, as I’d been feeling out of sorts of late.

DSC04869

Steamy claypot stew of sea cucumbers, abalone, mushrooms, dried shrimp, and other delectable items. Loads and loads of umami.

DSC04868

Amazing chicken wings, and photogenic to boot. The aroma stopped me dead in my tracks and had me scrambling to the dining table and seated in no time. I coaxed the recipe from my dear aunt — basically boiling the meat in a simple combination of traditional Asian ingredients and then letting it rest in the cooking liquid (kind of like a reverse marinade).

DSC04860

Beef stir fry with crisp asparagus and red onions.

DSC04856

Over the years, experiences like these have won me over to the idea that nothing says home like sitting down to a meal o’ love.  That and getting some thick ‘hong bao’ 😉

2 thoughts on “Home away from home

  1. i LOVE the first photo. so much that i would ask you for a print, frame it, and hang it in my kitchen. (current makeshift doesn’t count — wah wah wah)

Leave a Reply

