Sunday brunch for two

In my excitement to get cracking on all those newly picked apples, I invited J over for Sunday brunch, most cleverly killing two birds with one stone in the process, the birds being catching up with a mate and using up some apples. While I considered making it an exclusively sweet brunch menu consisting of nothing but a motherload of apple crisp, I ended up throwing together a frittata at the last moment as well – a good move, as I discovered J is fond of eggs. I ran into a slight problem over what to put in the frittata, as I found little more than sweet potatoes, yogurt, gochujang, shredded parmesan, and prepared spicy korean fish cakes (from H Mart, which might be my new favorite place on this sweet earth) in the fridge. I briefly contemplated putting sweet potatoes and then the fish cakes in (not together!), but decided to keep it simple, making a parmesan frittata with some dried herbs, finished with freshly ground black pepper (recipe at the end).

DSC08501

For two people, I thought this frittata was ideally sized — we finished it w/o a problem but (at least I) felt satisfied enough, and more importantly, still had plenty of room for the sweet portion of the meal. A couple weeks ago I saw this recipe for apple crisp on the King Arthur baking blog (one of my favorite baking blogs, fyi) and tagged it immediately. Though my proportions were a bit off and I could not bring myself to use all the butter that the recipe calls for, especially knowing that I would probably do the honors of ingesting the leftovers, I was happy with how it turned out (though I could also see how doubling the butter would double the deliciousness). I made some adjustments, as usual, accounting for ingredients I did not have, and I thought substituting strawberry jam + hot water for the absent apple cider was pure genius :D. Okay, maybe not pure genius, but genius nonetheless. Okay whatever. In any case, it was stimulating conversation as usual with J and afterward, we strolled through Harvard Square to catch the tail end of the Honk parade. Real good stuff all around.

DSC08507


Parmesan frittata

— serves two perfectly —

4 eggs + 2 egg whites
a splash of milk with some fat content
salt and pepper
fresh or dried herbs (I used some dried basil and parsley)
3/4 cup shredded parmesan + a handful more for topping
1-2 tablespoons olive oil or butter

1. In a large bowl, whisk milk, eggs and egg whites and season with salt and pepper. Mix in herbs and 3/4 cup parmesan cheese.
2. Heat up oil or butter in an ovenproof skillet over high heat. Add egg mixture and cook until edges set (about 5 mins for me). Sprinkle remaining cheese on top. Place under broiler until lightly browned and eggs are soft but set. Remove from oven and let stand for two minutes before serving.

Leave a Reply

