Cereal monogamy

I saw the term in a magazine today (not a food magazine, mind you – I do have a life outside of food) and it got me thinking.  While serial monogamy is a whole different story, I am quite the cereal monogamist.  Right now Im with Total, though I havent really eaten much cold cereal since the weather took a turn for the nippy.  But its okay, all relationships have their off moments.  Sometimes you just need the time apart. In the past, Ive been in serious relationships with Honey Nut Cheerios, Honey Bunches of Oats, Reeses Puffs, and Cinnamon Toast Crunch, to name a few.  Sure, flings happen (like my passionate affair with Life), but for the most part I find myself in stable, loving, monogamous partnerships.  I cant remember the last time Ive stocked two different kinds of cereal simultaneously, let alone eaten them at the same time (maybe Honey Nut Cheerios and their original counterparts way back when?).  Though I know many who are fans of the mix and match method – cereal polygamists, if you will – I prefer not to defile the sanctity of my romantic relationships.  How about you?

2 thoughts on “Cereal monogamy

  1. i love this post. i am also a cereal monogamist. i had to find a new love after i moved to HK, though, and honey bunches of oats with strawberry was too hard to find (or too expensive). right now i’m happily hitched to quaker oatmeal squares.

Leave a Reply

