Ch-ch-chili

It’s a fact that chili tastes better in cold weather so I made some last night to give my stomach some holiday cheer. Wanting to make sure it tasted good, I marched into the kitchen with a solid recipe in hand. However, I quickly fell prey to my old habit of adding a dash of this and and splash of that and the next thing I know, my dish is just a shell of the recipe I fully intended to follow. The base was ground beef, onions, carrots, crushed tomatoes, and tomato paste; for seasoning I added some beer, dijon mustard, chili powder, and dried herbs. Against the recipe’s express instructions I added a can of beans, and I also threw in a can of pumpkin at the end, which provided an appealing viscous texture and imperceptible vitamin boost. So, no recipe but a few evenings worth of chili to show which makes me a happy camper.

DSC08575

Leave a Reply

