Breaking out the good old tomato and eggs

The lighting of this photo was not salvageable but I like it for the perky-bright eggs and greasy black skillet.  I think many Asian babies recognize this dish as childhood comfort food and perhaps know it intimately in slightly different form, with less sauce or a more ketchup-y base perchance.  I like mine saucy and spicy, with red pepper flakes and lots of black pepper, soy sauce, a drizzle of vinegar and a squirt of ketchup.  I will also add sriracha when the need for spice kicks into overtime but I was feeling mellow tonight.  With plenty of rice and pickled daikon, and two absorbing hours of “Intervention,” the A&E show, my night was set.  After a particularly brisk day at the office and a spirited jog at the gym, I craved comfort and this dish brought it.  So reliable, so good.

One thought on “Breaking out the good old tomato and eggs

Leave a Reply

