Momofuku, the book: ginger scallion sauce

I read David Chang’s cookbook from cover to cover when I got it for Christmas, but didn’t test out a recipe until tonight.  If I could only have one recipe from the book, it would probably be this one.  He describes it as “one of the greatest sauces or condiments ever.  Ever.  It’s definitely a mother sauce at Momofuku, something that we use over and over and over again.  If you have ginger scallion sauce in your fridge, you will never go hungry.”

Chang scarfing down ramen with the sauce:

DSC08770

At first, I was skeptical.  I was skeptical of the whole book, really; but the versatility of this recipe grabbed my attention.  It can make a meal of any carb you toss with it, but it also seems like a handy sauce for some weeknight chicken or pork chops or a T-bone, pan-fried or roasted and finished with a spoonful of this stuff.  Or TOFU, seriously!  It could totally work on some pan-fried tofu or folded into some of the silky, soup-like kind.  Especially if the latter is freshly made, holler.

DSC08769

So I made the sauce but I haven’t actually tried it yet, since it was nearly bedtime when I started and after bedtime when I finished.  Mincing a 1/2 cup of ginger is labor-intensive and time-consuming, especially with a dull knife, but comforting in that it absorbs you and all you can think about is making clean straight cuts and lining up the ginger slivers so they can be meticulously cross-sectioned.  I imagined myself making a 1/2 cup worth of perfect microscopic squares but I would never take a microscope to my mince work.  Joy in a bowl? Worth the effort? TBD.

DSC08764

2 thoughts on “Momofuku, the book: ginger scallion sauce

Leave a Reply

