Flourless peanut butter cookies

If you want a peanut butter fix but would rather not take a spoon to the jar, these are for you. This batch I made for my coworkers, to help distract me from the leaky nose and hoarse growl I possess at the moment. And a brain is not required to follow the recipe. Seriously. 1 cup of pb, 1 cup of sugar, 1 egg. 1 teaspoon of baking powder if you like. C’est tout. I sprinkled mine with sea salt. Cuz sweet stuff always taste better with a salty finish. Stick it in the oven at 350 for 15 minutes and bam! You a superstar.

DSC08781

On a tangent, I realized I am better off making the Momofuku ginger scallion sauce without the ginger. In HK and Chinatown, restaurants specializing in roast meats will often throw in a little container of scallion oil — even if they do not, they usually have it on hand and it will appear if you ask.  I smack my lips with delight thinking about that stuff with cha xiu on rice.  Perhaps it is less balanced than the Momofuku sauce but it is definitely closer to my ideal of the catch-all condiment. Speaking of Momofuku, a friend of a friend (a chef in the making) made a batch of the pork buns on Sat night and they were fantastic, a perfect two-bite snack for soaking up the alc.

Leave a Reply

