Lent: Day 6

I think I’ve been holding up well. I really enjoy discussing my commitment with others because it gives me a chance to think more about and better articulate what I am doing. For one, I’ve realized that processed does not equal preserved. So canning, dehydrating, pickling, freezing and other such forms of preservation that do not involve processing food with unnatural ingredients are kosher. In fact, I admire the way us humans have resourcefully discovered such diverse forms of preserving food. There is nothing wrong with finding ways to make food last longer, as long as the food isn’t zapped with non-food in the process. Eating fresh, raw food may be the ultimate ideal, and maybe it’s something to strive for, but it’s not the regimen that would keep me happiest and most fulfilled. I think most people would agree with me on that.

Leave a Reply

