Dinner: grilled cheese sandwiches and tomato soup

I should have the above more often. I rarely think to cook it for dinner, but it hits a lot of the right buttons. My roommate J the girl made tomato soup from scratch. It was on the heavy side but brownie points for the addition of basil– I suggested she use the leftovers to make some pasta sauce.  When my grilled cheese sandwich wants a dunking, nothing beats Campbell’s condensed tomato soup.

My roommate J the boy and I made two different grilled cheese sandwiches. He went with classic Italian bread and slices of muenster, and I tucked a generous layer of extra sharp white cheddar and some grated parmesan between slices of Iggy’s sourdough.  Both were well-received: his for its classic taste, mine for its renagade sharpness.  Add some wilted arugula or deeply caramelized onions, and that’s no run of the mill grilled cheese sandwich you’ll be holding in your hands.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

