Quick update

I’ve been a terrible foodie this week– the duress of a writing assignment is to blame.  Mediocre takeout and pints of Ben and Jerry’s have been my primary sources of sustenance.  The one highlight: a lovely Spanish-themed dinner party on Wed night.  Smoked salmon and broccoli quiche, chicken pot pie with a decadent crust, a duo of salads, some Spanish reds, cream puffs for dessert.  Oh, and a load of eggplant beignets that went largely untouched and were deemed a “successful failure.”  I used some of my Boston Organics produce to make a pear and red lettuce salad with dried cherries and a blue-cheese dressing. Homemade everything–it was just fantastic.  Muchos gracias to the beneficent hosts of the evening and the hands that made the food.

I intend to make up for my slacking off this weekend: I’m headed to New Haven to visit L and J, and resolve to eat nothing but pizza while I’m there.  The places on the menu: Frank Pepe, Sally’s and BAR for the mashed potato pie.  My last hurrah before buckling down and rounding into summer form.  I’ve been putting it off for long enough.

One thought on “Quick update

Leave a Reply

