Droopy, soupy days

The temperature has dipped 10-15 degrees in the past week or so, especially noticeably at night.  Fall is definitely nigh.  The chill in the air is a bit of a downer, as it clipped the heels of some meaty late-summer days.  This summer was my first in Boston and I have mixed feelings about it, as I do about most things right now. After getting back from England in June, I spent a lot of time wondering about the decisions that brought me to Cambridge this year.  I trudged through most of July, peeved by the unpredictable weather and my own uncertain future.  I spent most of the year nestling into this life of stability, and by the summer I was settled in physically but continued feeling rather unsettled.  The last month has provided some timely distractions in the form of farmers markets and weekend travel, among other things.  But that nagging feeling, while muted, persists.

Mashed avocado and olive oil.

DSC09963

Such as it is, I look forward to the impending fall foliage and the days of apple picking and pumpkin carving ahead.  The nippy weather has also nudged awake my hibernation-mode appetite, as well as an increased appreciation for hot soups.  My roommate E banged out some killer chicken soup last week, and a couple nights ago I made some tomato basil soup (with grilled cheese sandwiches, of course). I riffed off this Smitten Kitchen recipe, replacing canned tomatoes with fresh plum ones, adding lots of basil, and using a roux/flour slurry to thicken it instead of cream. It was served with fresh corn sauteed in butter and mashed avocado as condiments. One of these days I will make a true cream of tomato soup, but until then, this will do nicely.

DSC09965

DSC09967

Leave a Reply

