Recipe: tofu and noodle stir-fry

Last Sunday afternoon I resolved not to eat out for lunch or dinner during the work week as part of an effort to reawaken the ascetic in me. It’s now Wednesday night and I am batting 0.857 (6/7, which includes Sunday dinner). The only miss was Tuesday night, when I caved into an offer to dine at Pierrot: boudin blanc, smoked herring, duck with bourbon sauce, leg of rabbit, fine baguette specimens specially delivered from Montreal. I withheld from taking wine, which counts for something, right? Other than that delicious misstep, I’ve subsisted on a steady supply of self-prepped meals and leftovers. This stir-fry was good for three meals, a hummus-heavy salad lasted me two, and I made a cold-weather chili tonight, the leftovers of which will comprise one more hearty supper.  It’s possible lunch tomorrow will be carrots plus hummus, but the temporary dissatisfaction will be outweighed by the belief that I am doing myself some greater good.

DSC00060

Tofu and noodle stir-fry
–makes 3 servings–

1 green pepper, thinly sliced
1 medium onion, thinly sliced
6 oz. tofu, sliced the same size as peppers and onions
7 oz. stir-fry noodles, prepared according to instructions (I used Thai Kitchen stir-fry rice noodles)
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 tbsp oil

Sauté garlic, onions, and peppers in oil until onions are translucent and peppers are soft, 5-7 minutes on medium-high heat. Add the tofu and rice noodles, and season to taste with any combination of soy sauce, fish sauce, chili garlic sauce, even a dash of ketchup (I won’t tell).

Leave a Reply

