Recipe: beef and beer chili

I’ll keep this post nice and tidy.  This “chocolate stout chili” rocks.  I’ll call mine a “beef and beer chili” since I used a can of Guinness, but it was still one kick-ass chili. Other than omitting the bouillon and substituting the beer, I left the recipe intact and followed it exactly. *This is me giving myself a pat on the back because I stink at following recipes.*  Nine times out of ten, the urge to improvise prevails.  In the effort to restrain, I discovered that elusive one time and my goodness, was it worth it.

DSC00079

The family getting ready to convene:

DSC00064

*Note: I should’ve kicked the tomato paste out of the house since I didn’t end up using it.

Beef and beer chili adapted from use real butter
–serves 4–

1 lb ground beef
1 large onion, diced
3-4 jalapeno peppers, deseeded and diced
4 cloves garlic, minced
2 tbsp vegetable oil
28 oz crushed tomatoes
1 large can of Guinness
3 tbsp cumin, ground
1 tbsp chili pepper
1 tbsp cayenne, ground
salt to taste
2 cans of beans (kidney is classic; I used black and white)

Brown the beef over high heat, breaking up the clumps. Set aside. Heat vegetable oil in the pan and sauté the garlic, onion, and peppers until onions are translucent. Add the beef, tomatoes, and beer and simmer the chili covered for an hour. Add the spices and simmer for 30 minutes and then add the beans and simmer for another 30, or add the spices and beans at once and simmer for 30. Serve hot, with fixings of choice (I suggest diced avocado with a squeeze of lime).

A peek at the simmering, and do let the chili simmer for at least an hour!  Magic happens between the 30 and 90 minute markers.

DSC00071

Chili with a friend: Is any affliction–of mind, body, or spirit– that this combination cannot cure?

DSC00078

Leave a Reply

