Apple Upside Down Cake

I like eating baked sweets a lot. As in, this is me:

 

 

Credit: “The God of Cake,” Hyperbole and a Half.

My savory tooth does not compare to my sweet one.  But as for baking, I’m coming to terms with my being a quick bread kind of girl. My impulses to bake seem strangely detached from the patience and discipline necessary to bake well.  I also think that, in contrast to cooking, baking doesn’t really enhance my gustatory appreciation for the end product.  And I actively enjoy going to a bakery, eyeing the selection on display, and diving into my carefully chosen good.  I think I actually might find that process more fulfilling than baking, and I say that while fully cognizant of how lame it sounds.

I realized my lameness this morning, while attempting to bake this apple upside down cake.  Overall, it wasn’t bad.  The bottom came out with a consistency more like apple sauce than caramelized apples, but the cake part was good and the taste was there.  The addition of cornmeal is an interesting twist and something I’ll keep in mind for the future.  For some reason, though, I felt let down.  I was eager to taste it but lost interest in it quickly after I did and had deemed it edible.  There was no lingering sense of satisfaction.  I didn’t even think it worth photographing.  Maybe I’ve just never baked something I liked enough that it stuck with me in the way that the stout chili from a couple weeks ago did.  Readers, what do you think?

2 thoughts on “Apple Upside Down Cake

  1. i definitely have felt the same way. somewhere along the way of cooking, my interest in what initially sparked my gusto wanes by a lot. moreover i know people who are actually turned off by the food that they made themselves and won’t even touch it. maybe it’s bc some of our enjoyment of food, especially baked goods, stems from its premade presentation and much of that visual appeal is lost while bearing witness to the intermediary steps.
    or more likely i just can’t make my foods look this good.

  2. I adore cooking. I adore baking. Both are like fun adventures for me. Even if something fails, I still view it as an experience I had: an experience of sensations and learning and frustration and fun. A process of figuring out what I did right, what I did wrong, and what I can try next time. I always say: At least you get to eat your mistakes. (And sometimes mistakes can be tastier than the real thing.) Sometimes I even seek out challenging recipes, just to see if I can do what’s in them. As soon as I realize I’m terrified of doing something, I decide I have to master it. Maybe this is a lame way for me to overcome my fear, but it works for me.

    For instance, right now I live in fear of making pie crust. Guess who’s going to be having a lot of pie in the near future? Guess who’s both terrified and also thrilled at the thought?

Leave a Reply

