Cure for the Monday morning blues (recipe: pumpkin bread)

Since my biological clock has not yet shifted over to daylight savings time, I woke up Monday at two minutes to seven. It was damp, dark, and dreary outside, which made me think twice about getting out of bed; but I put the extra hour to good use by making a pumpkin quickbread. Since I have David Lebovitz’s banana cake recipe ingrained in my noggin, I used that as my launching point. I swapped canned pumpkin for the banana puree and made a few other adjustments, simplifying the recipe to include just the ingredients I deemed essential.

DSC00240

Pumpkin Bread
–makes 1 large loaf–

2 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
½ teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1 cup brown sugar, lightly packed
2 large eggs
1 15 oz. can of pumpkin
½ cup sour cream

Butter a baking pan and preheat the oven to 350F. Combine the flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and ground cloves and mix well. In a large bowl, mix together the eggs, pumpkin, sour cream, and brown sugar. Add the dry ingredients to the wet in two or three batches, and fold the mixture until it is just combined (stop when traces of flour disappear). Transfer the mixture into the prepared pan and bake for 45-50 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean. Remove from oven and cool for 15 minutes.

Serve warm with cream cheese smeared on top:

DSC00246

One thought on “Cure for the Monday morning blues (recipe: pumpkin bread)

Leave a Reply

