a plate that talks must walk

Wednesday was my last day of class in Fundamentals of Food Service Production, one of my favorite classes so far. Things were a little hectic, as we had to start service an hour earlier in order to accommodate a special function taking over the kitchen immediately after us. As usual, the food still looked pretty darn good. That said, it’s a little unsettling to me that I can’t always personally guarantee that the flavors on the plate back up the plate presentation: that the food eats as well on the palate as it does on the eyes. There is a highly stressful degree of trust involved in the kitchen whenever you sell food that you yourself have not prepped, seasoned–cooked–a hard concept to accept when putting out a plate of food is putting your name, your reputation, on the line. If you don’t have a direct hand in cooking all the food that comes out of “your” kitchen, the next best thing is hiring people whose palates have earned your trust. And as an aspiring chef, I could not imagine being any further removed from the individuals who are cooking the food for which I am ultimately responsible. The best scenario by far, though perhaps I idealize it, is working with these people side by side, night-in and night-out, not only trusting them but loving them like family.

Alas, I am getting ahead of myself. This is not something I’ll have to deal with for awhile, since I’ll be the one busting my butt to earn that trust, that love, from others.

Crab Cakes, Roasted Red Pepper Remoulade, Cabbage Slaw

Veal Cordon Bleu with Sauteed Wild Rice, Squash Puree, Mushroom Cream Demiglace

Southern Fried Chicken with Roasted Garlic Mash, Sauteed Zucchini with Turmeric, Creole Cream Sauce

Seared Beef Tenderloin with Potatoes Anna, Cauliflower and Broccoli Gratin, Sauce Chasseur, Hollandaise, Oven Roasted Tomato

One thought on “a plate that talks must walk

Leave a Reply

